• Mens Soccer's takes on Marysville-Getchell, 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, March 1, at Getchell HS

  • Softball: The 0-2 Hawks take on the Monroe Bearcats. Tuesday, March 19. 4:00 P.M. first pitch at MTHS

  • Baseball: The 1-2 Hawks return to action 4:00. March 18, vs the Monroe Bearcats at MTHS

The Hawkeye

Filed under Lifestyle

Class of 2018 accepts honors at Senior Awards Night



Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

MTHS held its annual awards night for seniors on June 11, 2018. There were dozens of awards including scholarships, MTHS Outstanding Senior Department Awards, STEM recognition, and more.

Valedictorians and salutatorians were honored by Principal Greg Schellenberg. This year there were 16 students who received the Washington State Principals’ Scholars because they were the top five percent of the graduating class: Karen Benson, Nina Berry, Ryan Berry, John Aaron Cox, Torrey DeAlba, Amelia Jellison, Caylie Laney, Christina Le, Trinh Nguyen, Trang Phan, Ethan Pyke, Samantha Ruiz, Mark Takasuka, Harper Thomas, Nicholas Wolff-Gee and Kendall Yackley.

The recipient of each honor is listed below:

  • One quarter tuition waiver to EdCC — Alejandra Hernandez Aceveda, Daiki Numa, Sophia O’Hara and Salma Saritama.
  • The Hubbard Scholarships — Jazmyn Burn-Seipp and Kenneth Morris-Fagan
  • The Mike Watson Memorial Scholarship — Jasmine Zenk
  • The Madrona Joe Rice Scholarship — Eugene Seubert
  • The OverWhelming Scholarship — Tunny Parrish
  • The American Association of University Women Scholarship to Minh Phan
  • The Edmonds Daybreakers Rotary Scholarships — Minh Phan and Josiah Locke
  • The Society of Women Engineer Scholarships — Karen Benson, Trinh Nguyen and Minh Phan
  • The American Legion Post 234 in Mountlake Terrace Scholarships — Jacob Dodd and Morgan Howell
  • Cheeseburger Babies Community Service — Eliza Sandoval
  • Eda Harless Memorial — Hannah Gibson
  • General Music — Zachery Brown and Ethan Pyke
  • McIntosh Family — Alicia Barrette
  • Hazel Miller Memorial — Trinh Nguyen and Eugene Seubert
  • Gaynelle Derr Memorial and Gaynelle Derr Memorial-Second Year Award — Sandra Lopez
  • In-State — Candace Disney and Neil Wiborg
  • Keith Ewing Memorial Scholarship — Mallory Kellum
  • ELL First Generation — Alejandra Hernandez and Salma Saritama
  • Gordon McLaughlin Scholarship — Vivian Nowka-Keane
  • Scott Copan/ Bob Bauer Memorial Scholarship — Brendan Hayes
  • Baumgartner Family — Minh Phan
  • Hawks Helping Hawks — Minh Phan and Samantha Garcia Perez
  • MTESA Scholarships – Alicia Barrette, Joshua Ernst, Amanda Le, Neil Wiborg, Gabrielle Clark, Samantha Garcia Perez, Samra Gebrehiwot, Katrina Ness
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
About the Writer
Ciara Laney, Co-Photo Editor

Ciara Laney is the Photo Co-Editor for the Hawkeye. She is enduring her third year in the organization which she joined out of her enjoyment for keeping records of moments in life. Laney's goal in the Hawkeye is to make the audience feel a sense of belongingness in the Mountlake Terrace community. Outside of Hawkeye Laney spends time with her seven siblings. She has leadership roles in TEMPO, Key Club, and ASB and has been a co-captain for JV Tennis.

Leave a Comment

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a gravatar.

Navigate Left
Navigate Right
The student news site of Mountlake Terrace High School in Mountlake Terrace, Washington.
Class of 2018 accepts honors at Senior Awards Night